Hello, I am new to this forum, and new to playing a guitar. I enjoy listening to Elvis, and would love to play some of his songs on a guitar. I have a few questions. Is it possible to teach my self how to play these songs instead of going for lessons ?

Also, what is the best kind of acoustic guitar to play Elvis songs on, such as: Are you lonesome tonight, love me tender, and blue christmas.

Thanks & best regards.
Well... I think any acoustic guitar will do, there is no point in buying a super expensive instrument when you only want to learn to cover one singer...
Quote by Tartaria
Well... I think any acoustic guitar will do, there is no point in buying a super expensive instrument when you only want to learn to cover one singer...

Thanks, like I said. I am new to this. Is it possible to learn these songs on my own ?
Do you have any musical experience?

But yeah you can learn them yourself. Justin Guitar is a pretty good free (he accepts donations, though, honour system) online site for learning guitar.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
Sound doesn't much matter for a beginner, but if you want to look the part something big and fancy-looking would be the go. - Because you're more likely to pick it up and play it if you like the look. Something along these lines: