Hey guys - big time lurker never really posted on here before,

Looking at buying an SG standard limited 2011 model, I want to know if its the baked maple or one of the earlier rosewood boards. But I'm no pro in doing that, looks like maple to me though.

its never been played (or hardly anyways) and I can get it for a $1000 australian (American's note thats a pretty good price over here)

Please note, i don't have any grudges against baked maple, I have previously owned a Les Paul Classic (MM - sick colour) but the seller doesn't know and its a few hundred km away to have a quick look.

cheers

Tough to be 100% sure from the pictures (a clear closeup of the grain would be great) but it looks like baked maple to me too. That model/year combo certainly suggests it as well.
The Baked Maple was introduced in 2011. You can send Gibson an e-mail with the serial number of your guitar and they can tell you for sure. Gibson has gone from Baked Maple to Katalox and back to Rosewood in a very short period of time, so it is hard to keep track of what they used and when - at least, since the raids.
"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
yeah fair enough, I don't mind the baked maple at all in the end, but I have seen an SG standard limited in the rosewood and the darker board looks amazing... might have to splash some oil on it if I end up getting it.

Now they have some new stuff as well, granadillo or something? can't spell it lol
I think you mean Grenadilla wood. It is not usually found on guitars, but since the EPA has it out for Gibson, they are trying new things. Grenadilla is commonly known as African Blackwood, and is similar in some ways to ebony. It is frequently used for making high-quality clarinets.