Hello there,
To start things off, I have been playing guitar for 5 1/2 years now, but I have been playing instruments for over ten. I was self-taught for all of them except a year for percussion. But back to guitar. I have been uneased about my overall progress this past year, and it has been compounded by the fact that my blues trio broke up, and I'm playing almost no guitar in my other projects now. I write all of my compositions on guitar, and I don't want to lose that ability because I won't be playing it much till whenever, excluding noodling and occasional jams. So I have decided to start taking lessons.

I would like some input on a few things. See, when I first took percussive lessons, I had been playing for two years. I was okay and could play along to most rock and alt. But when my instructor asked me to show him what I knew, I froze. I literally didn't know what to do. So I played a shitty solo. Guy thought I was talking outta my ass, and essentially started from scratch. It was aggrivating. So I don't want to make the same (COSTLY) mistake with guitar. So what should I show?

I know all majors minors and 7ths everywhere on the board, I can solo in all scales maj and min, I can pick up songs quickly, etc. I know it is hard to gauge where and what without listening. I have a souncloud with the songs Gots To Get, and Like Lovers do as the most recent, but they were first take mess arounds. I will have newer songs later this month. Soundcloud.com/BlueJaysRobins

So any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.