So i have been playing rhythm guitar in my latest band for a while now and recently the lead guitarist has been wanting to pass some duties onto myself as he also sings a couple of songs now.

I really only use 2 pedals upto now, a Bluesdriver and analogue delay. I play normally with the Bluesdriver on giving me the main sound then when playing a solo or riff, i add the delay. The delay sound doesnt increase the volume enough for my liking and my solo or riff doesnt go higher into the mix (its a El Nano Memory Toy delay pedal).

I was round at a mates last night who says he would use a Boost to increase the sound of the solo. The tone would be much the same but just louder?

Im a bit of a noob when it comes to pedals so still unsure about a lot of them and what they really do so just checking if the boost pedal would be what i should get?

thanks
A clean boost is what you're after, you're pretty much spoiled for choice.

http://proguitarshop.com/effects/boost-pedals.html?p=3

If price isn't really an issue, the Xotic booster is really nice.
Quote by SimplyBen
That's the advantage of being such a distance from Yianni. I can continue to live my life without fear of stumbling upon his dark terror.

Quote by Toppscore
NakedInTheRain aka "Naked with shriveled pencil sized bacon In The Rain"
Quote by Eppicurt
A clean boost is what you're after, you're pretty much spoiled for choice.

http://proguitarshop.com/effects/boost-pedals.html?p=3

If price isn't really an issue, the Xotic booster is really nice.

Great thanks....

Price isnt an issue because i would rather spend on the best even if it takes me longer to save for it. Is there a real noticeable difference though with Boosts though? If its just amplifying the sound a bit more, i dont what the difference would be?

Again im an pedal noob so any extra info is great !

thanks again