I find this song pretty tough to analyze (I'm still kinda new to things in that regard). I see it's a simple Intro-Verse-Chorus-Verse-Chorusx2-Bridge-Outro deal but it's WAAAAAY more than that on the level of composition. Anyone mind helping me out? (main progression, rhythm, timing, instruments used, etc)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6Pl1nZJJGs&feature=kp
Theory is just...wow. I'm getting a bit over my head by trying to learn so much w/o formal educators

Quote by DBKGUITAR
To be a good lead guitar you must be VERY GOOD AT RYTHM

Quote by MaggaraMarine
My motto: Play what the song needs you to play!
Last edited by eric_wearing at May 6, 2014,
Without a score or a transcription, your request for help is a little bit completely hard to really respond to. A few straightforward things: Eno-like ambient intro, followed by the usual scream/melodic section balance. The whole thing after the intro is 4/4, and it's not like the intro isn't in 4/4 either. There are some triplets/sextuplets in there, with accentual syncopation and stuff in both the triplets and some of the more straightforward rhythms. Harmony is basically diatonic with spices added to taste, plus a few little chromatic jaunts that latter-day metal is known for. Without a score or transcription though, anything deeper is a big ask, especially given how hard it is to transcribe or parse heavily distorted stuff anyway.

Hope some of that helps, at least.
You might could use some double modals.
I thought analyzing was for finding the more complicated stuff, like if it doesn't have a written music then you analyze it and that's how you tab/write it out?
Theory is just...wow. I'm getting a bit over my head by trying to learn so much w/o formal educators

Quote by DBKGUITAR

Quote by MaggaraMarine
Quote by eric_wearing
I thought analyzing was for finding the more complicated stuff, like if it doesn't have a written music then you analyze it and that's how you tab/write it out?