Hi, I'm thinking about doing private guitar and bass tuition, as it sounds like a good way to make extra money, and get some teaching experience.

My main issue is, I'm not too confident on where to start with teaching, and despite the fact that I've been playing for almost 10 years, I'm not incredibly confident on my music theory, but I've spoken to some friends who do teaching as a side job and they have said that it is incredibly easy, because if you are teaching at an beginner/intermediate level, you would generally know more than the student if you have been playing for a while.

As I'm new to teaching, i am thinking about setting my rate at £30 for a lesson lasting an hour, however, for new students i will offer the first lesson for free. Is this a good idea? On one hand it will attract new students, and if they feel that they haven't really gotten anywhere then they won't feel ripped off, but at the same time, I'm sure not many people do this when they first start teaching, and it might cause more loss than gain. I'll advertise myself with business cards in music store windows, give them to friends, anyone wanting to learn guitar or bass, basically.
WHOMP

Think of that next time you are not allowed to laugh.
Is 30pounds a standard rate per hour? If so, sounds good. If not, lower your price.

Honestly, I don't see an issue with the first lesson being free. Usually, the first lesson is along the lines of "What do you want to play? What bands/styles do you like?". Then, you really get into things on the second lesson. If you charge 30pounds for what amounts to talking to the new student, that's kind of lame anyway.
Last edited by crazysam23_Atax at May 7, 2014,
I'm sure I've heard of some teachers offering the first lesson for free, but I have no idea about what percentage of teachers do it.