I've read a few articles and posts about figuring out the tuning, and most people say to find the lowest note in the song... but that doesn't always mean that it's going to be tuned down or even in drop tuning. Any tips?
I'm extremely new to ear transcription - I just attempted it last night. And I actually managed to teach myself three songs. Two of which, I already knew that the band played in Drop C# tuning, so it was obvious the other songs would follow suit. The other, I just kind of guessed because of the guitar tone (can someone tell me if this is even a good approach?).

To find the song's key, what should I do? Like maybe if I get one note/chord right, just try to play the next one until I figure out that one too? Use octaves? Single notes?
Should I turn the music off for a second until I figure out what that next chord would be (for verses and choruses) then go from there?

I know I sound like a moron here, but I'm looking for advices from different people so I can try to experiment with their methods. Kind of sad I've been playing for 8 years, and I can't even ear out a song or figure out a key, or know a lot of music theory... lol

Thanks in advance to anyone who contributes.
You ask good questions.

First of all I think it really helps to have a good ear. If you can match pitches, that's going to be helpful no matter what.

Secondly, I disagree that it's always the lowest note in the song. It can be, but that's not a hard and fast rule.

Let's talk about tuning first: