Hello all,

I'm a beginner Guitar play (or rather, I want to learn Guitar) and i was wondering:

Are there any good songs that i could start on to learn the basics of Guitar playing?

If you have any questions, feel free to ask away

Thanks -

Iwantastrat

EDIT: I apolgize if there's a general thread for this, hope i'm not breaking any rules, I'm kinda new here
Last edited by Iwantastrat at May 8, 2014,
Quote by Iwantastrat
Hello all,

I'm a beginner Guitar play (or rather, I want to learn Guitar) and i was wondering:

Are there any good songs that i could start on to learn the basics of Guitar playing?

Thanks -

Iwantastrat

EDIT: I apolgize if there's a general thread for this, hope i'm not breaking any rules, I'm kinda new here

You should focus on songs you already like, since motivation is really the big issue with beginners. You'll lose interest if you start learning generic crap, and you won't be doing society a favor either....

What song or songs are inspiring you to play guitar? Throw me a few suggestions and I'll tell you if they're accessible to a beginner.
The first song I really learned was Seek and Destroy by Metallica. Most of it is pretty easy, except the solo the riff leading into the solo. It's a good introduction to several basic metal/rock techniques.

I don't know if it's the best for a total beginner, though. I think I learned it after about a month of playing, and wasn't exactly playing it super well.

For the very first thing to learn, you could always just go with that Smoke on the Water riff that everyone learns.
Quote by Iwantastrat
Hello all,

Thanks -

Iwantastrat

Start off just playing simple chords (e, a, d, c, g) and find songs u like with them