Hi guys,

I'm just starting to learn ed Zeppelin's Since I've Been Loving You and apparently it uses the C Natural Minor scale for the opening licks.

I've just been looking at an instructional video and it claims that the C natural minor scale has the same notes as Eb major. Played a couple of licks and it fits. I thought that the natural minor/aeolian mode came from the 6th degree of the scale? There isn't an Eb in the C maj scale. Just googled C aeolian scale and the notes are same as Eb Major scale. WTF?

I'm so confused, can anyone put me out of this misery?
Quote by marshall55
Hi guys,

I'm just starting to learn ed Zeppelin's Since I've Been Loving You and apparently it uses the C Natural Minor scale for the opening licks.

I've just been looking at an instructional video and it claims that the C natural minor scale has the same notes as Eb major. Played a couple of licks and it fits. I thought that the natural minor/aeolian mode came from the 6th degree of the scale? There isn't an Eb in the C maj scale. Just googled C aeolian scale and the notes are same as Eb Major scale. WTF?

I'm so confused, can anyone put me out of this misery?

There isn't an Eb major in C major simply because it's not in C Major. Conversely, C minor is not in C major either.

It seems you're either stressing yourself out too much with modes or too little. First, you have to look behind the notes and look at the relationship between each notes.

In aeolian's case:Whole-half-whole-whole-half-whole-whole
Or: 1-2v3-4-5v6-7-1(8)

Substitute letters for numbers and you get C-D-Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb-C
Now instead of seeing it as a long string of notes, look at it as a circle, and you'll get
...C-D-Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb-C-D-Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb-C-D-Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb-C....

A never ending loop of notes.
Now, if you take Eb and 6 other notes after it, you'll get
Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb-C-D-Eb
Which is the Eb major scale.
Gear: