I've been playing jazz 3's for a few years and love them but am starting to get tired of them. I've tried the big stubby and I like the size but don't care for the material or the flexibility of it.

I've been thinking about biting the bullet and trying something like the gravity picks or the hufschmid drop plectrums. I've heard very good things about them but was curious if anyone has any testimonials about these?

I'm looking for something just slightly bigger than the jazz 3 and something that will help me hold onto them a little better as my hands sweat a lot when i play. I've also heard that having a significantly thicker pick (3-4mm) will help keep your hand more relaxed while playing.

Thoughts?
Quote by andrerist

I'm looking for something just slightly bigger than the jazz 3 and something that will help me hold onto them a little better as my hands sweat a lot when i play. I've also heard that having a significantly thicker pick (3-4mm) will help keep your hand more relaxed while playing.

Thoughts?

I've used the Big Stubbies for quite a while (3mm). My favorite, though, is the Gravity Razer in 2mm and 3mm. It's got a sharper point then the Stubbies and a less-rounded shape. My only gripe is that they're relatively expensive. OTOH, I rarely lose an expensive pick (I've got my original Gravity Razer and have had it for a couple of years now). I have bowls (literally) of Pick Punch picks that I set out when I have my pick-thieving friends/guests around, and the good ones never come out.

The Razer I have seems to be the "Standard" -- but they make smaller versions. The Razer standard is smaller than a standard medium Fender in shape already, but I think it's a bit larger than the Jazz III. Give him a call; he can probably tell you immediately which pick is slightly larger than the Jazz.

Flexibility isn't an issue with a 3mm Razer (there isn't any), and I prefer it that way. I think it's a bit more precise.
Quote by dspellman