Im pretty new to playing so I don't know how to adjust the settings on the rp255 to get the sound I am looking for. I am trying to play Avril Lavignes My happy ending. I know its old but she was one of my favorite artist back in middle school. I have the chords and and play the song but I am having trouble getting the sound correct. When I connect the rp255 to my computer and open x-edit you can adjust all sorts of settings. Can only tell me how to at least get the sound close to the distorted guitar? I know it will not be exact but I think I should be able to get it closer than what it is. The amp I am using is just a Fender 25R. I do not know what to put the bass, treble,gain, middle, or reverb at on that either. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
I went and listened to a few bits of the song you're talking about... When it comes to a gainy power chord sound always go to the Rectify amp setting... It's modeled after a Mesa Dual Rectifier and will usually be your best shot at getting a higher gain sound.

It might be best if you lean how to operate the pedal with the onboard controls first.

I have an rp355 so i think yours is similar.

Click on the edit button until you get to the amplifier row and turn the first knob until you see Rectify. Then look on the screen diagram and see what other parameters are in that row that can be changed with the other knobs. I think it will be the amps gain and it's level... always make sure to check the amp level and amount of gain before you leave the amp row.

Next find the distortion row if yours has it and figure out which distortion pedal model you want to use. Before you leaving the section look at the diagram and see what parameters it offers with that model such as amount of gain or other stuff like low/mid/high and its overall volume level etc. each one will be different in the distortion/stompbox models.