So, I've been wanting to buy a new guitar. And i've been having a lot of trouble choosing between a Fender Stratocaster and a Gibson Les Paul.
I've seen Jimi Hendrix make sweet love to Fender guitars just like alot of other people like John Mayer, Stevie Vai,...
But then you have this beautifull Les Paul that Gibson gave birth to wich alot of people that I look up to use too. Like Gary Moore, Slash,...
I mainly play blues and rock.
So my dear guitarists, wich one of these 2 is better?
Last edited by ScreaminString at May 15, 2014,
the tele.

didn't read a single rule now did you? just join up and start posting complete crap.

welcome to the forum. learn to read.
Quote by gregs1020
the tele.

didn't read a single rule now did you? just join up and start posting complete crap.

My apologies, I'll go read the rules now.
I'm just a guitarist looking for some advice.
Apples and oranges really. Depends what sort of sound/look youre going for.

Strat is arguably more versatile.

Generally speaking youd want a strat for light - med rock and a les paul for med - hard rock. Exceptions apply obviously
Quote by gregs1020
the tele.

I don't get what I have done wrong. Correct me oh mighty forum veteran?
Quote by ScreaminString

Not a veteran, but here's a few points:
You're not really supposed to make VS threads.
You're not really specifying what you're going for.
You haven't really given us your budget.
And you have told us very vaguely what you like of both guitars (sounds like you haven't tried either of them).
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

Quote by ScreaminString

You are comparing two extremely different guitars. Any answer about which is better is purely subjective and will be different for everyone. This is why 'vs' threads are explicitly banned in the rules.

Read this:
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1497696