Hi there guys,

So I started learning music theory. I bought an acoustic guitar and I'm really interested in knowing how to pull out chords from scales. To improvise, compose, etc.

I'm reading the 'Absolute Essentials of Music Theory' by Don MacLean and 'Practical Music Theory' of Justin Sandercoe. Even tough I'm liking them, I wanted a more thorough approach on the harmonization of scales.

Already checked in a glance the 'Chord Chemistry' by Ted Greene but it looked like it was a big dictionary of chords, I'm not really interested in memorizing specific shapes, I want to know the formulas and work out the shapes by myself.

Could you help me out and suggest something?

Thanks
OMG LOOK! I'TS MY SIGNATURE

Quote by Hobolad
I think instruments are as hard to play as you make them, y'know?

EDIT: Damn, I fail for posting serious.

What exactly are you having trouble with? Here's the formula for your basic chords...

MAJOR = Root + Major 3rd + Minor 3rd - example (C E G)
MINOR = Root + Minor 3rd + Major 3rd - example (C Eb G)
DIMINISHED = Root + Minor 3rd + Minor 3rd - example (C Eb Gb)
AUGMENTED = Root + Major 3rd + Major 3rd - example (C E G#)

To create triads using notes from a specific scale, just take 3 notes from the particular scale and work in a Root-Third-Fifth.
Last edited by b00m at May 15, 2014,
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Composition
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Solos and Improvisation

The first book will teach you how to make chords from scales and both books will teach you how to harmonize those chords to your melody. The first book also has an excellent couple of chapters on constructing those melodies in the first place.