Hey all, somewhat of a newbie here.

Long time bass player here - just for fun, occasional jamming with friends, nothing regular or organized... and I'm looking for a new bass. I've narrowed it down to two guitars in my price range: The Squier Vintage Modified 70's Jazz Bass or the Ibanez SR300.

The Ibanez series has a narrow body which I'm sure will take some getting used to but is quite aesthetically pleasing, while the Squier 70's Jazz Bass weighs a ton. With that said I think I like the sound of the Squier a little better - it's smooth and deep which is the sound I'm going for. Correct me if I'm wrong but I feel like the Ibanez sounds a little more "tinny" and better suited for pop/metal?

The Ibanez has a slightly longer neck with 24 frets vs the Squier with 20 frets, not sure how much this matters in the grand scheme of things.

I'm not going to ask which is "better" because I know it's personal preference. I'm leaning towards the Ibanez but could use some advice before I shell out the $300+ which is a lot of money to me. Thanks in advance!

Oh and "shell out a few more bucks for the <insert more expensive brand/model here>" isn't a viable option unfortunately
The Ibanez is active and tbh it is a lot more versatile than the Squier. The ibby is capable of doing most genres of music.
Quote by Karl Marx
Reason has always existed, but not always in a reasonable form.
Both basses are versatile in that you can use them for any style or genre.

IIRC, both are made the Indonesian Cort factory which is turning out some great stuff these days. The build quality is going to be equal (though both are capable of being lemons.)

24 frets is a luxury, it's only worth paying for if you're going to use them on a regular basis (you aren't.) Active EQs are similar an can be a real pain in the arse if you don't actually want to use it, you'll forget and leave your bass plugged in overnight several times.