A couple years ago I received a bass as a birthday present but due to personal stuff at that time, I didn't have the motivation to play. The bigger issue there is I don't know how to play. The reason I don't know how to play is because I've never worked with electric instruments before and I don't have the equipment. I feel like you guys are going to give me shit for this but I really don't know what to do.

I went to the greatest god damn concert I have ever been to last night which triggered a huge wave of inspiration to finally hook up my bass. I'd never even taken the amp out of the box before -- though I let my father borrow it because he was only missing a bass and an amp -- so I was super excited until I realized that I don't have an input cable thingy. I don't know if input cable thingies are universal for all bass guitars or if I need to get a specific brand or what. I also don't know if I can get one for cheap, or if I can fix the input (output? ) on my bass which is apparently out but I obviously haven't been able to confirm that.

What else am I missing? I mean, I have a bass and I have a bass amp. I have very good studio headphones so I don't piss off my neighbors. I have arms, hands, and fingers. But I'm missing a cable and god knows what else.

Can you guys like point me to where I need to go to figure this out or tell me everything I need to start teaching myself this instrument already?

tl;dr don't buy your family members ~400 dollar instruments then expect them to know what to do