Hey guys! So I want to record a cover of the song "We're not gonna take it"
This is technically my first recording ever and I'm a little new to the whole process. I've only been playing for a year. I can't seem to make my guitar sound professional enough to get a decent recording in. I'm playing both rhythm and lead and they just don't sound good together. I don't even know how to explain... I'm using a brand new B.C. Rich Mockingbird hooked up to a Digitech RP55 which is then hooked up to the Yamaha Audiogram3 which is how I get the sound plugged into the computer so I can record the sound. Does anybody have any tips to make my guitar recording sound more professional? Because I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing.
Look up EQing tutorials on YouTube, and don't expect to sound good immediately. "Sounding professional" is really fvcking complicated, with many details, and tons of trial and error. Welcome to the world of recording and mixing. You're a real musician now.
You need to play tight to the click, get a tight bass track. Setup the intonation of your guitar and tune it before recording. What I did for my last recording was to record DI tracks and use some nice free vst amp sims and cab sims on it. And, as Cavalcade said, google those EQing tutorials. I take for granted you have a backing track for your song.
Obviously you need to play both tracks at the same tempo, and be pretty tight, or else it won't even sound like the song. EQ the rhythm track so that it has fewer high frequencies, and the lead track so it's has more mids and highs. At the very least they'll sit better with each other if you do that.

Also, I have an RP55, and while it sounds good live through an amp, it doesn't record well. Hold down the Drums button when you're powering it up to turn on the cab simulator. It'll make it's recorded tone sound fuller and less scratchy.
Thanks for the tips everybody. I'll see what I can do tomorrow when I get the whole studio set up again.