What's up guys, I'm not too sure if I'm posting this in the right area but ah well **** it.
I've been learning guitar for five months now and I've come to a point where I'm unsure of what I should start learning to improve my playing.

When I first started I just wanted to play anything and as Nirvana are my favourite band (yes I wasn't alive when Kurt died) I began learning them. I can play most of their riffs/songs because they are mostly power chords which I have no problems with. I might not have made much progress for 5 months but any progress is good progress right?

If I could get some suggestions on what I should look into learning (a certain bands music, songs, scales) I would be very appreciative

P.S: I do apologise if I have posted this in the wrong place
What I have done lately is decide what my favourite music is, what my favourite bands are and what all the elements are that go into making their music.

Then you can focus on learning all those elements as well as those bands songs.

So you could look at the chords they use, the scales, the tunings and the techniques that go into the songs like hammer ons, bends, vibrato etc.

This can give you a clearer road map of what to work on to play the type of music you like.
Quote by LTaces
What I have done lately is decide what my favourite music is, what my favourite bands are and what all the elements are that go into making their music.

Then you can focus on learning all those elements as well as those bands songs.

So you could look at the chords they use, the scales, the tunings and the techniques that go into the songs like hammer ons, bends, vibrato etc.

This can give you a clearer road map of what to work on to play the type of music you like.

Thanks for the reply, yeah I can say I have done this with Nirvana but it's all very basic, I will look more into other music I like, I have a huge taste is music, anything from 50's to heavy metal.