Hi all,

I am still somehwhat of a newb. although I have been jamming around for several years. I know natural scales when I see them, diatonic chords etc. Using the nashvile system I get a little confused when I see things like bIII and bii, would that mean Eb minor and Db minor in C? someone told me that a bii is always a diminished triad?
I have no idea what the non-diatonic chords of scales would be.

Also, I have heard about arranging primary secondary tertiary chords and outside chords, does this mean what ever chord you are on you have 3 or 4 types of options and then you sum it up with a turn around?

Is there some kind of law that says for a generic major chord your primary options = etc etc

cheers
Okay so the whole bIII and bii thing is really simple. Its based on a major scale with no accidentals where i=the tonic, ii=supertonic, iii=mediant (third). B is vii, and the pattern restarts at the octave. So if you are in the key of C, and you see any kind of I or i, the chord will always be some kind of C chord. II or ii is always some sort of D chord (D is always the root). III is E, IV is F, etc. Flats and sharps simply add an accidental, so bIII is some sort of chord with Eb as the root. You have to be aware of what key you are in to use this system. So a C major scale built diatonically with no accidentals looks like:
I, ii, iii, IV, V, vi, vii(dim)

Whether the chord is major or minor is notated by either upper case or lower case numerals. Upper case numerals are always major (I=Cmaj, IV=Fmaj). Lower case numerals always have a minor third (ii=Dmin, i=Cmin, iv=Fmin)

Sometimes, there are extra markings. A plus sign (+) means augmented. A triangle will mean play a major seventh. A circle with a line through it is half diminished, and a circle with no line is either a diminished triad or fully diminished 7th.