I'm about to buy an electric guitar. Unfortunately, due to some life circumstances, I have no time to drive around dozens of shops and trying every single guitar I find. So I really need your advice, guys.

What I need is a 6-strings electric guitar. Music styles - from pop-punk to heavy metal.

The budget is flexible but I prefer a cheap thing just because I'm a beginner and not going to play gigs. It's just a hobby, kind of.

Have played only acoustic. But really like electric guitars so I don't want anything special 'similar to acoustic' just because I used to play the acoustic one.

Probably the main requirement is that it should be light and easy to play. That means, a very light weight, and the ability to play barre chords easily. I really hate when the strings are far from the deck and it more about doing some kind of silly exercises in a gym rather then playing music.

Also it should be well-built, I don't want to throw it away after a year because the material quality was awful and something got twisted\bent.

So... I pay a lot of attention to how it feels, not only to how it sounds. In the end, you'll never change its weight, but you can vary its sound by changing strings, humbuckers, effects etc.

Disclaimer: I'm in Asia (Thailand). The well-known brands might cost 2 times more here, then in, say, the US. And there's a big change I'll find a fake instead of the real thing.
Last edited by abassaka at May 24, 2014,
Quote by abassaka
I'm about to buy an electric guitar. Unfortunately, due to some life circumstances, I have no time to drive around dozens of shops and trying every single guitar I find. So I really need your advice, guys.

What I need is a 6-strings electric guitar. Music styles - from pop-punk to heavy metal.

The budget is flexible but I prefer a cheap thing just because I'm a beginner and not going to play gigs. It's just a hobby, kind of.