So ive been playing guitar since 2001 but stopped for a couple years. The past year I have been playing a lot and now I want to acquire some new gear!
Here is my current gear:
Epiphone DOT cherry baught in 2003 (love this guitar)
Boss ME-50
Marshall valvestate 15w
Squire Strat
Ibanez GIO bass

I started out playing a lot of STP, smahing pumpkins, metallica, alice in chains... stuff like that. Now my style is changing to more metal I mostly play LOG. I also like BTBAM, Carcass, Behemoth, Death I'm going for more of a heavy sound now.

So my question is guitar or amp?

My budget is between $600-$700. For a guiatar I want a Floyd Rose (not a special) EMG 85/81 combo and I dont want a 7 or 8 string.
Heres a guitar Ive been looking at http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/charvel-desolation-dx-1-fr-soloist-electric-guitar
As for an amp I havnt done that much research. Ive looke into the Peavey Vypyr vip people on this site seem to like it. I Just play at home for fun tho. Does any one her have a Yamaha THR? Those look cool what do you guys think?
just so you know active pickups don't always play nice with digital modeling amps.

look at BC Rich as they have a few guitars (mainly warlocks) that may fit the bill.
Quote by monwobobbo
just so you know active pickups don't always play nice with digital modeling amps.

look at BC Rich as they have a few guitars (mainly warlocks) that may fit the bill.

Thanks! I should have clearified that I'm trying to decide between a new guitar or amp. If I got a new guitar with avtive pickups i would play through my little Marshall or Boss with headphone like I do now. So If I got with an amp ill be stuck with my DOT which i dont mind. I get good distortion tones out of it with the ME-50. Do you have any recos on an amp with a Mesa type sound but for around $600? Although I only play at home so mayb the guitar would be more fun.
Also I havnt looked much at BC Rich I just dont like the way warlocks look.
Quote by monwobobbo