Before I get some *sshole going on about how this is a guitar forum, I figure that there are probably a few guitarists like myself who have branched out and have experience.

So I have been playing guitar for ten years, piano for six, and have a solid understanding of music theory. My technique is pretty spot on for guitar, as I was taught by someone who made sure I played correctly, and I have quite a good ear for music.

I was looking online purely out of boredom and found a music store nearby advertising violins. To be honest, I thought they would be more expensive, and was surprised that I could actually afford one with my TAFE life budget. I have been thinking of buying one, as violin and cello are two instruments I have been keen to learn for a while. However, I have a few questions.

Is the technique similar to that of guitar (left hand I am mostly talking about), or comparable? If not I do plan on finding lessons online or books so I can learn to play properly. I learnt guitar for five years before I started having lessons, and until then I couldn't hold a pick properly, was using my left hand incorrectly, and had a horrible sense of rhythm. I know technique is important and I intend on learning correctly.

How much does it cost to keep playing. Eg with guitar I am spending money on strings, picks, capos etc, which is pretty cheap. I have three guitars I play most of the time, that get restrung every six months which sets me back about $60-$90 to restring all of them, and picks cost me approximately $5 every three-four months, as I keep losing them. I have only ever spent about $30 on capos in my time, though I could use a new one sometime soon. So pretty much I am saying the costs keeping and using a single guitar is about $75 per year. How much would the violin cost, with bows, strings etc?