I have been playing for only a few months, but I have been working on (customizing) guitars for years. Despite the name of the thread I'm an electromechanical engineer and a powder coater, but the guitar is starting to make me feel quite dumb. I do have a "learning disability" but I have always been able to overcome it and adapt to my needs, all of this aside I am generally known as a "quick study". This is my fourth attempt to learn to play. And I feel like I can say I am really getting it this time. I discovered drop d and that really started to develop my right hand. I have watched a lot of youtube videos and picked up a bunch of odds and ends skills until I could play a few of my own riff's, I know all the chords minus the f`s (well I know them, debatable if I could "play them"). I finally feel like I am ready to learn a song. From the advice from other threads I chose simple man from shinedown. And it where it all falls apart. I keep banging my head against tab and it's been 30 years since I've read sheet music, I was a drummer when I was younger, but I just can't make my brain translate tab to real life. That junk is upside down!!!!! Yes I know it's common knowledge. I just can't help the feeling that I don't know something important. I just don't know enough to know what I don't know, you know?

question #2

How do you know what notes to play together? Or sound good together? Is this where scales come in? This is my assumption anyway. Is there a good explanation of how to read scales, the dots on the fretboard don't mean much to me and the ones with numbers are confusing because there is more than 1 "#2" and so on. How do you tell the right sequence? Wow there are alot of scales out there, is there a "starting place"?

Question #3