Hi guys, I'm new to acoustic guitars (and to guitars in general, to a lesser extent) and am looking at buying my first one. At the moment, I'm very interesting in the Seagull Entourage CW GT QI Acoustic-Electric, but some reviews I've read have mentioned the Cedar top will ding easily and that this could also affect the sound. Any thoughts on this? Could this be a problem if I play somewhat rough, or is it mostly overreaction? Thanks!
It's true cedar is very soft. It's also mellow, and yields a lot of output for very little input. Some claim you overdrive cedar tops with really aggressive pick style strumming.

Cedar is also used quite a bit for classical guitar tops

Also, mahogany is popular for steel string tops, but not as widely available as spruce.

If you already admit to being heavy handed, (no harm in that, been there, done that myself), you might be better off with a spruce top.

There are even differences between spruce species, Sitka being the most common, followed by Engleman, then the very rare Adirondack. Western redwood is also used, being similar to cedar in many ways.

The top bracing and body size also greatly affect a top's resonance. So, the moral of the story is this, try a bunch of guitars, give them hell, and see which ones top's sound holds up the best under your, "onslaught".

Any top, of whichever species, needs to be solid wood to live up to the characteristics expected of it. Plywood doesn't really count.
Last edited by Captaincranky at May 29, 2014,
Cedar tops do damage easy, especially if you have long fingernails. As for affecting sound, I don't think so. Anyways its easy enough to get a thin plastic film for the sound board.
We have a cedar 12 string in our group, that looks like its been through a war, but it sure can put out some sweet notes. Cheers///
Quote by tuxs
...[ ]....We have a cedar 12 string in our group, that looks like its been through a war, but it sure can put out some sweet notes. Cheers///