So I'm going to this music camp in the summer, I play bass and guitar but I signed myself up as a bass player. So basically I'm pretty good at guitar, I've been playing for a solid 3 years, and a few months for bass (I'm a freshman btw). I don't know much music theory, enough to get me through though. So on guitar if someone says play an Fmaj9 for example you play that Fmaj9 like it aint no shit, but if someone says play an Fmaj9 when you're playing bass, do they mean a scale? Like bass players should know scales and stuff, right? I know my major and minor scales but thats about it. Its just the same pattern and position for all major scales, but you just start on a different note, right? Like if everyones jamming off of Cmaj7, you would stick to the basic rhythm of the drummer and play play from a Cmaj7 scale. Also, is there anything else I should know about what's expected as a bass player? I just don't wanna get there and look like a fool. Thanks, all.
Quote by kidsquij

on guitar if someone says play an Fmaj9 for example you play that Fmaj9 like it aint no shit, but if someone says play an Fmaj9 when you're playing bass, do they mean a scale?

The job a bass player in that situation would be to play the bass note, which would be F.

Like bass players should know scales and stuff, right?

Yes, but in a chord progression, bass just plays the bass notes. So, if the progression is Cmaj - Fmaj - Gmaj, then the bass play C - F - G. You play C as long as the Cmaj chord is played by the rest of the band, then move onto F during Fmaj, etc.

I know my major and minor scales but thats about it. Its just the same pattern and position for all major scales, but you just start on a different note, right?

Don't worry about scales a ton right now. You'll get to that on bass later.

Also, is there anything else I should know about what's expected as a bass player? I just don't wanna get there and look like a fool. Thanks, all.