Hi all

Not sure if "full voice" is the right term, or maybe I'm thinking chest voice?

Anyway, lately Ive been trying to practice not singing higher notes with just my chest voice. Every time I hear a recording it sounds muddy, like I'm focusing on the lower side of my voice.

So I started training on not doing that and the recordings got better. Now the problem is that I am not able to hit some of the higher notes I used to be able to get..

I remember hitting an F4 once, but with full voice. Now I can't even hit Eb4 and I am also having a bit of trouble with the D4.

I feel maybe it's because I haven't trained that muscle in my throat for as long?
I've been trying to get into the habit of 'mixed voice' as opposed to always chest voice.

my highest note that I can comfortably hit without any sort of strain or weakness is a C#4.

Help would be appreciated, thanks!
If you listen to musicians who are baritones (likely what you are), you'll notice that going up past around E4ish, maybe even before will cause their volume to rise. It's pretty much belting for most baritones around G4. I think you'll have to introduce yourself to this technique. It's important to not hurt yourself while doing it so you may need a coach. It'll be somewhat like a yell except very controlled by your soft palate and not your throat. Look up videos on how to do it but for the love of God, if it hurts, stop immediately.

People will tell you it'll be loose and easy to do but that's a crock of shit. There shouldn't be pain but there will be tension in your throat muscles as it requires proper cord closure.

This will likely take you to around G4, G#4, or A4 with a good deal of practice.