I’ve been songwriting for awhile, but I am completely new to live performance. One thing I really want to figure out is a way to create cool ambient noises on stage – but I don’t even know where to begin with this kind of stuff. What’s a good place for someone new to start looking?

I’m thinking of sounds along the lines Chad VanGaalen’s intro to “Where Are You? ” (it sounds like maybe there is a delay pedal involved??). Are there any pedals that I can manipulate dynamically on stage that create weird washes of sound?

I’m looking more towards the simpler ways to accomplish this – i.e. I don’t really want to introduce a laptop into the equation. I’d prefer something that works as seamlessly with an electric guitar performance as possible.

I know nothing! Help me out. Thanks!
Delay, reverb, looper, slight modulation (imo this is preferential, and not essential). You can stack delays (run a delay into another delay) for more depth.

Loopers are good because you can then loop and stack multuple layers of the delayed signal, possibly changing delay times and effects levels, between loops.

An overdrive would be good for different textures, as changing amp channels changes your whole sound overall.

Imo, I would recommend looking into Boss DD-3 or 7, TC Electonic Flasback (X4) or MXR Carbon Copy, Boss RV-5 or TC Electronic Hall of Fame, TC E. Ditto (X2, and any Tubescreamer type pedal you like, or even the EHX Soul Food.

Hope I helped.
Caution:
This post may contain my opinion and/or inaccurate information.

Current Rig:
2006 PRS CE-24
Mesa/Boogie Mark V
Voltage S212 w/ V30's
Strymon Timeline
CMATMods Signa Drive
TC Electronics Corona & Hall of Fame
Great – thanks. I guess a looper might be the closest to what I am looking for – if I can loop sounds to the point where you can't really recognize their source anymore that could create some cool textures.