So lately I've been on the hunt for a new bass rig. Naturally I went with my dream brand from when I started playing bass years ago, Markbass. I found a Little Mark II on GC's used website for 350 plus shipping so I went for it. On memorial day weekend I found myself at a GC checking out the cabs, and I was sold on the Markbass 151P and 104HF cab combination. Since the sale was going on, I decided to go ahead and pick up the 151P and come back for the 104HF, since the latter was majorly expensive at 900 dollars.

But wait...

Yesterday I spotted the Markbass CMD 102P combo on ebay and snatched it up for 750 shipped, thinking I would save myself some money. So I went to Guitar Center again today to play the combo with a few different cabs and see which one suited me best. I came to the conclusion that I needed a 4x10. In coming to that conclusion, I tried both the 104HR and the Blackline series 4x10. There was a slight difference, but not enough to warrant the price difference. My conclusion: Get a 4x10, but get a used one, and not necessarily Markbass.

So now that's all settled, right? No.

I found a great deal on two SWR Goliath III bass cabs on craigslist, so tomorrow I'm heading to pick them up. Both for 600 bucks and they're the older model cabs with better speakers, apparently.

So now I'll have:
1 Markbass Little Mark II head
1 Markbass Traveler 151P cab
1 Markbass CMD 102P combo
2 SWR Goliath III cabs

of course i wont be keeping all of these items. My credit card is seriously maxed...

Anyway, I'll be doing a shootout of everything involved and I'll be sure to give you guys a detailed write up when I'm done.

Here's the tone I'm going for:
My bass is a Ibanez SR506 with active/passive toggle and Bartolini pups.