Hey guys,

I have a few questions to ask regarding guitar techniques that I hope/know you can answer. But please answer everything as BASIC (can't stress this enough) as possible. I have done some looking around on the internet and some books but nothing is really sinking in for me (don't worry, I wouldn't just ask without looking around online, that's just low.)

I'm currently a self-taught guitarist of almost 5 years learning from basic tabs. My main guitar idols are Synyster Gates, Jake Pitts, Jacky Vincent (you can see the trend here) and pretty much would love to learn to play very similar to them. After doing a bit of research I know what kind of techniques they use:

-Sweep Picking
-Scales
-Arpeggios

And a lot more.

My questions:

1: Sweep picking
I understand that sweep picking is meant to be a whole bunch of notes played in a nice flowing movement but the only "sweep" (if you can call it that) that I can play, for example, is:

E|===9==========9===|
B|====10======10====|
G|======11==11======|
D|========12========|
A|==================|
E|==================|

So what I want to know is:
-What is the main theory in writing your own sweeping pattern?
-Best way to practice sweeping from scratch?

2: Scales
I really don't understand what they are. I read a post from UG here but I still don't really understand it so can someone please explain it simpler and what would be the best way to practice scales?

3: Arpeggios
I understand that arpeggios are notes in chords played individually so what would be the best way to learn chords? I think I putchords off from the beginning due to frustration so where would be a good place to start?

4: Weird (?) Riffs
When I say weird riffs I mean more complex than you're average riff. An example would be:

Black Veil Brides - Coffin
D----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
A----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|