Page 1 of 2
Hello all,

I am new to the community, so forgive me if this is posted elsewhere, but I couldn't find anything too closely related.

I have been playing around with some free metal guitar VST's, and they haven't been as nice as I was hoping. I have tried several of different chains of amp sims and impulse loaders that fellow youtubers have recommended, with little to no luck. I realize that my sound will not be exactly as theirs, due to different equipment and such, but I am nowhere in the ball park. I dont want to exactly copy someones particular sound, but stealing some settings seemed like a good place to start.

My guitar has a muddy, scratchy, and all around harsh sound to it. It sounds like a cheap solid state 10 watt amp. Inputs aren't clipping, and I have tried different cables.
If any of you have experienced anything like this, tips would be very much appreciated. As i said, i understand that as a beginner, I will not get studio quality, but i feel as though exact settings should put me somewhere close to metal tones on many of the videos.

I have a tascam us1641 and I am using Reaper as my recording software. For the guitar, i have a shecter damien elite, with a new battery, and new strings.

The vst chain is the ts808,kvassa amplification lite, and lecab2 with catharsis impulses( i have tried several).

Any help at all would be appreciated.

Thanks
Have you actually loaded impulses into the impulse loader? I know that for some reason lecab2 defaults to "off" when you load it, make sure you turn it on too.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Last edited by ChemicalFire at Jun 1, 2014,
ChemicalFire,

Thank you for your response. Yes, as far as i know they are in there. The red indicator lights are on, and the name of the impulse shows up on either side.

Thanks.