I'm a guitarist for I can't remember how long xD, maybe 5 or more years. I've been enticed how the bass guitar sounds whether rock or any mellow songs and I'm enamored by it. Here I thought I should try a new one besides a normal six strings instrument and moves to two lesser strings. I'm looking for a cheap bass that is around $200 or $350 something. I play any genres so I don't just stick to rock, but I play any kind of genres out there. I'm looking for a bass that almost covers up any songs and I can switch into whenever I like it. No need to buy a separate one for any specific genre. Also, the neck doesn't warp so easily when I put a little heavier gauge strings, and a passive bass.

I've been thinking about getting an Ibanez GSR200, but I'm not sure if it's good or not. Do Ibanez SR series matches the one that I have listed? I forgot to mention, I have small hands so getting fender basses with larger necks is kind of hard to play, well for me. Although I wanted to get one, but yeah it is kind of unfortunate for me xD. I'm not knowledgeable about basses, so list the basses you own or have owned with a better quality sound and the materials.
I like the Squier line of basses but they take a huge depreciation hit if you buy one new. Look for a used one IMHO.

For the transitioning guitar player I think the Squier Jaguar Special Shortscale is the best option in the Squier line. $180 new or often found used in the $125 price range.

Personally, I think the best overall value option is to look for a used Fender MIM Jazz bass. There are tons of used ones out there and you can usually find one in the $250-$300 price range. Because it's a true Fender it holds its value and you can get your money back more often than not should you choose to sell it.

Ibanez basses are very well made with slim necks. You can often find a decent one used for $100-125.

Be thinking about what amp to get though. A cheap bass through a decent amp sounds better than the reverse.