I've been playing funk for years just for fun (I'm primarily a classical/flamenco guitarist), but have been invited to do some session work in a funk style. Being the perfectionist I am, I want to ensure I have all bases covered and brush up on my technique/playing style, and would like to ask the people of ultimate guitar for some advice. Firstly, I am using a Fender Lonestar Strat (humbucker at the bridge, but its sounds pretty light and funky), and I don't yet know exactly what I'll be playing. Now on to my questions;

1. I tend to favour a very floppy pick for funk, but there are times where I miss the control of something thicker, such as for more riff-based things. Should I just deal with this and keep it light?

2. Is it worth going to the effort of deadening unstrummed strings? It does make it sound tighter, but I'm wondering if this would be audible after being recorded and mixed with other instruments.

3. What equipment do you recommend taking? I quite like the sound of it clean through my amp (high treble, low to medium mid and bass), but are there effects in common use in funk that I might want to take with me?

4. Any recommended tunes to learn for stylistic purposes? I'm used to controlling myself for the lazier parts (eg James Brown's "Sex Machine") and am very tight with the busier 16th-note parts (eg Patrice Rushen's "The Hump")

5. For improvised parts, is it standard to use pentatonics rather than full major/minor scales?

I reckon that's everything I've been thinking. Please let me know your thoughts and show me a warm welcome to ultimate guitar (this is my first of potentially many posts)
Quote by sdjknights