Hello,

I'm currently playing an Ibanez S Prestige, which I love. I've been using it for about 6 years now and I'm looking to buy a second guitar to have setup with alternative tunings and a non-recessed tremelo system.

So far the things I'm looking for in my next guitar are the following:

• blocked (non-recessed) tremelo (for use with a D-Tuna)
  • Locking nut
  • 24 frets (preferred, but not required)
  • bridge humbucker
  • jumbo frets, low action (or adjustable)
  • price range: around 1000 or less

I'm mainly interested in playing shreddy metal, but I do also enjoy a guitar that can produce nice clean tones for blues rock.

I love 80's metal, EVH, Paul Gilbert, Michael Schenker, Russ Parrish, Marty Friedman, Blues Saraceno.

I'm also very into progressive/death/technical metal. I really love Revocation and Protest the Hero.

As for body shape, I'm not too picky. Just anything that's not super round.

I'm located in northern New Jersey, very close to Newark and New York.

I'd prefer a new guitar but a like-new used guitar is fine too.

So far the closest thing I've found to what I'm looking for is the Kramer SM-1 (which is actually a recessed bridge I believe).

Let me know what you think about Kramer guitars (I've been reading that they've gone downhill since the 80's?), and let me know if you can think of anything else that comes close to what I'm looking for. I'm very open to hearing suggestions and rationales for differing opinions.

I will take all comments into consideration,
Thanks for your time!
Last edited by jschoch at Jun 3, 2014,
try the evh striped series guitars. Really simple. Around 900 dollars. Single bridge hum bucker and a volume knob with a non-recessed floyd rose. also comes with a d-tuna already on installed on the floyd, so no installation needed
Last edited by eknumber9 at Jun 3, 2014,