Hello,
I'd like to start to sing.. I already play guitar and I'd like to sing as well.
Is it recommended to get a teacher? I saw there is some stuff online, but I don't know about it because everyone's voice is different. I'm self taught on guitar though. I'd like to sing in the style of James Hetfield of Dave Mustaine, kind of, but developing my own style.
Thanks for your suggestions
Good luck.
As a singer (well, i do vocal covers on YT and i do get positive response from viewers) I never quite practiced much at all, i just kinda started singing and I was always quite good at it.
If you want to start singing and you have an "ok" voice, definitely try the vocal lessons. They will help if you already have a basic singing voice. But if you really can't sing (your tone sucks, you can hardly hit any notes on the nail, you're just terrible) then i'd say scrap the whole thing and forget about it.
Singing is something you're able to do as a little kid, if you can't do it now even "okay..." then i don't think you will ever be able to sing really well.

Definitly do develop your style. Many singers like Anthony Kiedis cant sing that great, but their style suits the music they sing to, so it sounds nice.
Quote by jrcsgtpeppers
There shall be a stop to this madness. The battle is not over. My tasty licks aren't going anywhere.

Quote by The_Blode
^ I've just realised if you say Simple Plan's 2011 effort "Get Your Heart On!" really fast in a Southern American accent, it sounds gross. . .like sexual gross!

Quote by Necroheadbanger
Hello.
I'm looking for professional bongo-ists and triangle-ists to make a Progressive Technical Brutal Death Metal band
(will be called AxOxJxLxAxIxVxXxUxWxZxQxUxRxWxGxJxSxAxLxKxMxNxHxUxGxAxAxWxVxCxBxZxVx)
(Don't even ask what it means)

https://soundcloud.com/95dank

I am able to hit notes but I need breathing techniques and obviously exercise. Do you know any good lessons/DVDs or something along those lines to learn how to sing?