I have been playing the guitar for 6 months with a cheap classical guitar that has absolutely horrible sound. I'm looking to purchase a decent guitar. At the moment I can only afford to buy one guitar.

I'm trying to decide between a classical guitar and a steel-stringed acoustic guitar but I can't make up my mind. I'm going for a fully acoustic guitar; I will discard any guitar that has built-in electronics as I have no use for such features. Regarding this I'd like to add that I thoroghly dislike the sound of an electric guitar. I came here to look for advice and opinions on which type of guitar I should buy.

Most of the time I play classical music on the guitar because I enjoy it. I also like the ability to sing along with the music since several people have complemented me on my singing voice. For me, these aspects of the guitar are of equal importance - although I do spend considerably more time practicing to play classical music with fingerpicking that playing chords with a plastic pick. As of now I have no prior experience in playing decent steel-stringed acoustic guitar nor a decent classical guitar. Hence I'm in a plight to choose between them.

Is it considerably harder to fingerpick a steel-stringed guitar? Does it sound much worse?

What about classical guitar? Does it sound good to use a plastic pick to play chords on it?

Should I go for a steel-stinged acoustic guitar or a classical guitar?
fingering a standard acoustic should be much easier than on a classical( i have absolutely NO experience on a classical, none, zero,zilch) as the strings are much closer to the fretboard. the neck is much wider than your typical acoustic guitar so, if your used to that classical, it might take some adjusting on the thinner neck. i wouldn't imagine that using a pick on a nylon strung classical can sound good at all !
need more gear and a lot more talent(courtesytuxs)