Hey all, very wet-behind-the-ears newbie here. Looking hard at the Epiphone SG Goth, but am a bit confused. Everything I've read thus far indicated that the body was mahogany, but another vendor site stated that the body is alder instead.

Which is it, and what is preferable?
The one I'm looking at is the cheaper, entry-level SG Special. According to this link , the body is alder, while at this link as well as others it claims to be made of mahogany. Have they made them from different material over the years, and which is considered better? It's my understanding mahogany is a bit denser and tends to favor the lower frequencies, lending a bit of "growl" to the instrument. No idea what alder's properties are.

EDIT: Originally typed "neck", changed to "body."
Last edited by StarGeezerTim at Jun 10, 2014,
the body wood will not make a difference with that guitar. I highly suggest you do not get any Epiphone special. You can get a used Epiphone G-400 for $150 and they are much better guitars

Those guitars you linked are different models, so they would have different specs.

Here is the G-400 goth used for $199 www.guitarcenter.com/In-Store-Used-USED-EPIPHONE-G400-SG-GOTH-BLACK-110069573-i3713760.gc
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Last edited by Robbgnarly at Jun 10, 2014,
Thanks for the tip, Robb. Here's the catch... there are both budgetary and time considerations at play here. The guitar is a birthday gift to me from family. I've tried making this both economical and easy to obtain for them (particularly since none of them are at all versed in selecting instruments.) I don't really want to go to them with under 2 weeks to go and suggest we start buying the parts piecemeal (guitar and amp at least), with likely another $100 or so tacked on to the cost (not counting shipping costs.)