Hey UG community. 10 years ago on my birthday I got a strat by (Washburn?). I didn't do much with it until last year November. Now that I'm getting serious with music, it's time I got a new guitar. I tried playing along to some songs (Megadeth, Metallica, etc) and my guitar sounded like crap. It doesn't have any fancy pickups, no whammy bar, and the thing is falling apart. Long story short, I'm looking for something that I won't be ashamed of gigging with yet not break the bank. Max price 450 USD. I wanted to get a Dean Dime Camo but it didn't come with a Floyd Rose/Whammybar. I'm new to this so forgive me if I come across stupid. I plan on playing along to some thrash and blues (Megadeth,Black Sabbath). I want it to be comfortable, sound great, and look mean.

PS. I have a Fender Champion 25. Is that the root of my problem as well?
look for a 400 series LTD. (EC400 this for example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ESP-LTD-EC-400-6-string-solid-body-/281353839371?pt=Guitar&hash=item4181fee30b) or others. they are pretty solid for the money they come with active pickups which dave mustaine used. it would likely fit most of your needs minus the floyd rose.

why do you want a tremolo? they are cool, but unless you would go higher end, they can wear quickly and be hard to stay in tune.

also there are further complications with stringing/setting up a trem. unless you NEED one i would stay with a hardtail. that is just my opinion.

for an amp, i would recomend a peavey vypyr tube 60. its a great modeling amp and it has the same power schematic to the 6505+'s.

if you shop hard i think you could get close to budget. that is just one guitar, there are hundreds you can get, i just thought that it could be a good example. jackson also makes fine guitars in the same price range used, my personal preference is the ibanez prestige series, and they are out of budget for you and most people (me included) swap the pickups.