Hi,

I'm a newbie player and unfamiliar with intonation. My acoustic sounds great, but it is not intonated at all.

I'm thinking that intonation for an acoustic is more complex than an electric. Got a new set of strings for my stratocaster and intonated no problem. Do you need to actually make 'physical' changes to an acoustic's structure - it seems that way to me.

Many thanks.
Intonation on acoustic guitars is always off. If the guitar's intonation is properly set when it leaves the factory (and they are) then by the time you actually get around to buying the guitar from the music shop, the intonation is already 20 cents sharp on the 12th fret. Sometimes this can be fixed again later on by simply reshaping the saddle but unfortunately only 1/8" saddle actually supply you with enough material to reshape them. Most modern guitars use much narrower saddles that don't allow for intonation adjustments.

The good news is that an acoustic guitar is always blending several notes together into 1 dominant tone. The top of the guitar gives you 3 or 4 tones, the back gives you just as many, the guitar's air chamber has it's own resonate frequency, the sides even produce sound. When you mix all this with the sound generated by the string you are actually looking at hundreds if not thousands of different sounds all being generated at once. If the string is sharp by 20 or 30 cents on the 12th fret chances are you won't notice because there are so many other sounds in the mix.

Electric guitar doesn't have this luxury. There are far fewer overtones and a lot more tone coming from the string it's self so when an electric string is 20 cents sharp on the 12th fret every chord sounds wrong.