Hi. So i got a cheaper Yamaha acoustic a while back (it was like 200 bucks) and i want to change the strings out. i have used the strings that came with the thing til now and i really need to change them out. the question is what stings should i get. it seams like there is more options for acoustic then there is for electric. i play pretty much everything on it from just strumming chords to playing fingerstyle stuff. also if i were to change these strings out would i have to get the guitar setup again? (there is no truss rod from the looks of it) thanks! im not looking for only brands of strings but types sized etc. as im very new to acoustic stuff.
Elixirs, .012's Until you find a sound that you like, though, you should try them all out. I recommend Elixirs because they last a very long time, still sounding great. As far as tone, I actually like the Martin Silk & Steel strings. They have a tone somewhere between classical nylon and phosphor / bronze steel strings. Mellow yet classy.
Your guitar almost certainly does have a truss rod. They are blind at the headstock, (no cover), and the adjustment is under the sound hole. That isn't to say I'm suggesting you screw around with it. That's just an FYI as to its location, period.

Lighter strings will relax the action a bit, and heavier strings will raise it a tad. As to whether that will be out of tolerance for you personally, I haven't a clue.

Just remember, the truss rod adjustment is only intended to set the neck, "relief", and NOT the overall height of the action. That is done by either sanding or shimming the string saddle.

While an acoustic guitar's action height may rise or fall depending on humidity or season, it's mostly as result of changes in the sound board. The necks are quite stable, and rarely need adjusting.

Also keep in mind, the overall effects of a string change may not fully manifest themselves for weeks, as it takes time for the top and neck to respond to the new tension.