Hey all!

I need help/advice.

I'm a guitarist. I constantly try to write music (we'll get to that). I have my softer acoustic side and I love playing coffee shop shows etc.

Alternatively, I have my heavy side. If I'm not playing acoustic, I'm trying to go heavy as hell (think Norma Jean and August Burns Red).

My problem is this....I've simply hit a musical rut: writers block. No matter what I do, I just cant get out of it. I find myself trying to write riffs, but I somehow jst keep playing basically the same thing. It's so frustrating.

I have been listening to band after band trying to draw influences, everything from Every Time I Die to Pink Floyd to TOOL to Born of Osiris to The Doors. But I'm just at this stand-still and I dont know how to get out of it.

Like I said, it is very frustrating. I just cant overcome this 'writers block' I've had for going on 6 months. I'm waiting for it to come naturally but its just becoming disheartening to the point where I'm just bumming myself out not being able to come up with something catchy I love playing.

I've tried different tunings (I usually go Drop C# because its 'just' low enough and its within my vocal range (whether screaming or otherwise)).

What do you guys recommend? What do you do when you find yourself in a tough spot like I am in?

Any help/advice/insight would be much appreciated. Thank you so much in advance

\m/

- E
Have you tried playing genres you normally don't play? Like, if you don't typically play blues, try some blues.
For me works sometimes this:

-Set up your recording system (DAW on PC in my case) to a tone you like on your guitar and a mic to sing any melodies above (you can hummm or sing any crap)
-Turn off the lights so you go dark (not always necesary)
-click record.