so im planning on buying my first electric guitar ive been playing acoustic for about 2 years now and im just really not sure about what kind to get im looking for something with a kinda punk/alternative sound like do you have any certain brands/pickups or guitar in general that would work?????
whats your price range brah
Ibanez FR Prestige (BKP'd out)
Schecter Tempest Classic
Fryette Deliverance 120
Hughes and Kettner 412
I'd say Epiphone, I've got one, and all that stuff people say about Epiphones being crap is wrong/exaggerated for the most part. Mine is the Standard Plus Top, for $499, you can get a lot of tones out of it. If you're going for something cheaper the regular standard isn't too bad either. There's also Fender. which might have something close to your price range. I would stay away from Squire, unless you've got your heart set on one, in which case go ahead.
My Gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Schecter Damien Platinum FR
Yamaha FG700S (Acoustic)
Peavey Vypyr
Fender Mustang I
Epis are sweet but i think schecter right now is in their own 'golden age' of guitar manufacturing. I personally think you just get more guitar for your dollar with them on lower to mid range guitars. A lot of older brands dip down in quality over years and years for whatever reasons (a convo for another time) but with a newer one (like Schecter) you know they're still in the process of making a name for themselves thus crafting quality sweet instruments. Thats my theory to that anyway.

So shcecter is a good brand to look at, along with ESP. Probably a typical answer but you can't go wrong with either imo.
Ibanez FR Prestige (BKP'd out)
Schecter Tempest Classic
Fryette Deliverance 120
Hughes and Kettner 412
I'm partial to LTDs and Schecters in that range.