Hi everyone it's my first post so newbie here I'm looking to put new pickups in my epiphone sg special would like to get a sound like duane allman and dickey betts I like to play blues and southern rock and slide guitar so any recommendations or advice would be very welcome
Last edited by paulbarwell at Jun 13, 2014,
i'm guessing you want paf-types

what's your amp?

what's your budget? it's up to you, and maybe it has sentimental value if it's your first guitar, but if it doesn't i wouldn't put too much money into pickups for a cheap guitar (though I suppose you could always take them out and put the old pickups back in if you ever sell it).
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
Hi it's not my first guitar I also have a strat and a telecaster for my country playing my amp is a fender blues jr . It's just a cheap SG I got from eBay and want to pimp it up for blues and slide guitar and it doesn't have to be paf type pickups
I play blues and folk slide on electric and agree with what Dave Mc says - the amp is important, and low to medium output pickups are the best choice - but aimed at suiting the amp.