Hey all,

I have been playing guitar for roughly 3 years now but for about the past two years I have been what i call "stagnating". By this I mean: I have learnt all the basic open chords and lots of the more advanced chords (e.g. 7ths, barre chords etc) but since learning those after about 1 year of playing I haven't really improved over the last two years.

So, I wanted to ask some of the more experienced players where I would go from there? What should I learn next? I have started learning the blues scale as I want to be able to have a good knowledge of scales, is this a good place to start? What else should i be learning next after basic chords?

Any help greatly appreciated!!!

thanks!
Hey Funkprint, welcome! Unfortunately, I'm just getting back into playing after many years absence (and even then, never reached even an intermediate level of proficiency) so I'm not sure I can provide much insight.

I can, however, perhaps point you in a direction where folks might be able to speak to your current state of aridity. I would think the "Musician Talk" forum (under Music) or "Guitar Techniques" (under Instruments) right here at Ultimate Guitar might render far more fruitful results from folks who have far more experience than I.