Hi,

I'm a bassist, but I purchased a Peavey 5150 2x12 combo for my band. I re-tubed it with JJ tubes and thought all was well.

The other guitarist in my band bought a Peavey 6505+ 1x12 combo brand new and it sounds so much better than the 2x12 combo that I bought. It's fuller, louder, and definitely has more bass at all of the same settings and with the same guitar.

So now I'm scratching my head as to whats up with my amp. The 2x12 combo also has very annoying feedback issues even at low volume. Playing the 6505+ at the same volume (and louder), there is no feedback.

Shouldn't the 5150 2x12 be fuller and louder than the 6505+ 1x12?

Can anyone help?
...it was bright as the sun, but with ten times the heat
Try changing out the tubes. The 5150 2x12 is older than the 6505 1x12.
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Highway One Telecaster
Dean Evo
Mesa F-50
Laney GH50L
Vox AC30 C2
Ampeg V2
pedals
I re-tubed it with JJ tubes
No, how do you do that?
5150 212 is fixed bias, IIRC.

What speakers are these amps using?

Try other tubes and swap around the preamp tubes. Wouldn't be surprising to get a bad tube that is new.
Ibanez Prestige RG852MPB
Ibanez Prestige RG652KFX
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
Schecter Loomis NT
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Line 6 POD HD500X
Deadhorse OD/Boss HM-2
I already did that. I found that one of the tubes was much louder when tapped than the rest so I pulled it and installed another one.

They are both stock speakers as far as I know.
Last edited by c3powil at Jun 16, 2014,
You could just like the 6505+ better. It's a bit hard to diagnose without actually hearing the differences ourselves.

Also keep in mind (AFAIK! Someone please correct me if this isn't right) that the 5150 212 is not *exactly* a 5150 - the circuit or design is slightly different, and, AFAIK, the 212 is a bit tamer than a regular 5150/6505.

I don't think that would account for the large difference you are describing, however.

How loud are you running them?