Hi first of all let me confess I have very little knowledge about amps so I hope someone can help me out here. I am planing to buy valve amp at least 100w because I read that's the minimum for venues. Budget is about 500 pounds. I am wondering does most venues provide with cabinets if I buy an amp head ( to save trouble transporting the cabinet) and even if they do what are the rules what to connect to what. For instance if I buy Marshall MA Series MA100H 100W WHAT can I connect it to ? Also cant understand why would Blackstar HT-5RH 5w Tube Head be almost the same price if there so massive difference in watts wtf? And then another question can I record into computer without cabinet but just with amp head?
Last edited by chrisBLJAD at Jun 17, 2014,
Quote by chrisBLJAD
Hi first of all let me confess I have very little knowledge about amps so I hope someone can help me out here. I am planing to buy valve amp at least 100w because I read that's the minimum for venues. Budget is about 500 pounds. I am wondering does most venues provide with cabinets if I buy an amp head ( to save trouble transporting the cabinet) and even if they do what are the rules what to connect to what. For instance if I buy Marshall MA Series MA100H 100W WHAT can I connect it to ? Also cant understand why would Blackstar HT-5RH 5w Tube Head be almost the same price if there so massive difference in watts wtf? And then another question can I record into computer without cabinet but just with amp head?

First of all no, 100w is not the minimum for venues. Im assuming you read that on a toilet wall cos no respecatble publication would write that

It depends if we're talking solid state or tube amps. On the whole, tube amps are louder. A lot louder.

If youre using a tube amp you could easily do small to medium gigs with a 15w-20w amp. Maybe even less if its mic'd up

You would connect an amp head to a speaker cabinet