I’m a beginner (been playing an acoustic for about 6 months) and I really want an electric. I generally play a lot of 80’s & 90’s grunge and metal. A guy near me is selling an Epiphone Les Paul Standard for $250 on Craigslist. It’s pretty nice looking and it sounds like he has taken good care of it. What are your thoughts? Is this a good guitar for a beginner, or am I just going to want to upgrade in a year or so? What I really want is a PRS SE Custom 24, but that may be a bit pricey for me right now. Suggestions? I’m torn. Buy the Epi or save up for the PRS?
Last edited by Mr.Koozie at Jun 18, 2014,
I started playing about a year ago.
My first guitar was an Epi Les Paul Std. My second guitar - a PRS SE. (Mine is a Paul Allender signature model but still...)

So after listing similarities - I like my PRS better. The Epiphone has a lotta heft and a bit of the distinctive Les Paul tone. It's a classic guitar - i paid 200 for it - i'm not sorry that i bought it. But the PRS is better. It's made better, it feels better. Holds tune better. It's just better.
I've heard from a bunch of people here that the more recent Epis are not so good. I would say it makes more sense to get the PRS and maybe get a real Gibson Les Paul later if you feel the itch.
The Epi is about 3 years old. If I got a PRS it would likely be new. Sure a Gibson Les Paul would be nice but those are way out of my price range. Out of curiosity what are you using for an amp? I'm leaning towards a Peavey Vypyr as they seem to get some love around here, especially for beginners. I have no problem getting the Epi, I just wonder if I will be saying "I wish I had bought that PRS" after I get it. I've never even played a PRS but for some reason they are the coolest guitars on the planet, in my opinion of course.