Combo, preferably. If not, then including speakers, which I don't think would be possible.

Anyways, some information:

I'm a newbie guitar player. I've been playing for a few months (like 3...? 3 and a half maybe?)

My amp is a bit... well... bad, in my opinion. I'm not going to say it's terrible, because it gets the job done, I just don't think it's for me. I don't know, I'm a newbie, so I don't really know what I'm talking about. It's a Crate GX-15R.

Anyways, I'm considering upgrading, but don't have a lot to spend and I don't even really want to spend the $200 in the first place, but will if it means I'll get more enjoyment out of playing.

I'm interested in learning a lot of different genres and styles of music, but what I find myself playing most (at least currently) when just messing around is Surf, or at least Surf-esque music. I also play mostly in my bedroom, about 65% of the time with headphones, 35% without.

I've been thinking about the Peavey Vypyr series*, but wasn't sure. Mostly considering the Vypyr VIP 1 or VIP 2. Mostly considering them since they can be used for bass guitars too, which I am thinking about eventually picking up as well.

Questions on those specific models:

1. Do they have good reverb...? Like, will it produce the surf sound well?

2. I've heard Peavey is typically good for metal and other high-distortion sounds. Would I need to buy an after-market effects pedal to get good distortion? (I'm interested in branching out genre-wise, but can't really do so atm because my amp is a bit bad.)

3. Is a 40w too loud for me? Does wattage even correlate to volume?