I have some questions about playing guitar in a musical's pit orchestra

Next fall, my high school is putting on Shrek the Musical. It was announced that they're looking for someone to play acoustic/electric guitar and ukulele, and I feel like it would be a good experience. I've never done anything like this before though, so I'm wondering:

1. What's the difficulty level for playing guitar in a pit orchestra?

2. Do you read tabs, sheet music, or a mixture of both?

3. I can't find any Shrek the Musical guitar parts online, but I really want to get a head start and practice reading music. Can someone link me to some free broadway guitar sheet music that would be worth learning?

(Invalid img)
Last edited by Quen234 at Jun 24, 2014,
1. i doubt you'll have a huge role. you'll be surrounded by other loud instruments that will assist in smothering any small mistakes you make.

2. both. i prefer tabs for reading and sheet music for writing. edit: lol just realized this wasn't a personal question. yeah you're gonna get sheet music but you should be able to convert it to a tab if you really need to.

3. no clue.

ps you're gonna get 10 jokes posts for every serious post. either ignore them or join in
i don't know why i feel so dry
Last edited by Eastwinn at Jun 24, 2014,
1. In a professional one, pretty rigorous. For HS, probably the ability to play backing chords for the orchestra.
2. They'll probably give you the sheet music. Nobody uses tabs besides guitar players and composers aren't about to write in a different format for one instrument. At worst it'll have weird voicings for chords.