I've decided that I want to build a guitar... Not really sure where to start (as the title implies, I've never done this before).

My ideal specs would be a 25/26 fret neck and two humbuckers, with a body similar to the Ibanez or Washburn electrics.

How much do I want to build myself, and how much do I buy? Obviously the woodwork can be done from scratch, but do I want to build the electronics myself? (Pickups are quite expensive...)

What wood do I use? I've seen people use everything from basswood to mahogany, how do I choose which suits me best?

And are there any tips or tricks I should know of before starting?

Halp pls!
'Actions speak louder than words' he said. With words.

NOOT NOOT MOTHERFCUKERS
I'm in a similar situation! Sorry this probably doesn't help you much. But yeah I'm modelling mine off an Ibanez style guitar with 25.5" scale length, cheap pickups for now (so I can change them in the future) and basically going to do all the wood, but I'll buy the bridge, switches and knobs etc. I was thinking about winding my own pickups, but as I said I'm buying cheap ones so I can maybe do that in the future. Well I mainly commented because I'm interested in what others have to say!
The best thing to do is to find a guitar you really like, and base it off that. Then just tweak things to your liking.
Why 25 or 26 frets? That is a random number.
Cheap pickups will sound way better and are easier to get than to wind your own for the first time. And if pickup price is a limiting factor, you are going to have a really hard time with the rest of stuff, since that is much more expensive.
So there's no harm in combining guitar characteristics? I might go with the Ibanez look and Gibson wiring.

Quote by EpicGuitarGuy13