Hi all, I have this lovely Charvel 475 deluxe that I've been playing for over 20 years now. It has Jackson PUs.

My gear:
- Gughes and Kettner ATS Series
- Line 6 POD XT Live

The clean sound of the single coils is great, however the humbucker needs a little more punch, it doesn't have a lot of low, and it gets very muddy when hi-distorted soloing on the lowest strings (no string buzzing although).

Recently a guitar shop was selling out, and they were dumping these humbuckers:
- Seymour Duncan SH-6b "Distortion Humbucker"
- Dimarzio DP216BK "Mo' Joe"
- Dimarzio DP166BK "The Breed" Bridge

Unfortunately, all of the staff got fired so no one could help me (the shop owner being a complete guitar noob), so I took all three of them home :-)

I can put them in and test for myself, however I have no experience in comparing PUs neither installing them (and I'd prefer to keep the other packages sealed) ...

I know DP216BK is linked to "Joe Satriani", and DP166 is linked to "Steve Vai".
But it doesn't make sence at all to only take this into account...

Anyone who can help me making up my mind? Are they OK for hi-distorted fluid metal oriented soloing sounds?

Any kind of help/tips/do's/don'ts/references would be very much appeiciated! Thanks in advance
Attachments:
DSC_0465.JPG
the duncan is a high output ceramic distortion-style pickup. fairly tightish and some would say harsh (if you like alnico). it's going to be a fair bit higher in output than the other two. i think george lynch used the duncan distortion when he was in dokken, so that might give you some idea of the tone. high output, bit fizzy, pretty 80s-sounding (almost thrashy).