Im really starting to get annoyed. I have been playing guitar for 14 years and to this day I have never been able to get a TRUE Metallica tone.

Its simple, I want to sound identical to the tone on Puppets and Justice. Make no mistake, I havent been trying crappy little pedals. I have tried EVERYTHING! I bought a Mark V, no luck so I sold it on ebay, I tried a dual rectifier, still no luck, now. I own a Peavey 6505+ with a MXR 10 band eq, still not close!

I have recently watched youtube vids of people using the axe fx and they sound 100% accurate to puppets or justice! It literally sounds like he took the tone from those albums, threw it into his amp and thats the sound.

Why is it so hard to get that exact tone and will the Axe FX solve this problem once and for all?
Quote by Metalguy5784
Im really starting to get annoyed. I have been playing guitar for 14 years and to this day I have never been able to get a TRUE Metallica tone.

Why is it so hard to get that exact tone and will the Axe FX solve this problem once and for all?

Not...for you.

Metallica has been able to get TRUE Metallica tone for about 13 years before they started using an AxeFX.
You're trying to copy an album tone? Not happening without recording and double/quad-tracking your guitars.
Ibanez Prestige RG852MPB
Ibanez Prestige RG652KFX
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
Schecter Loomis NT
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Line 6 POD HD500X
Deadhorse OD/Boss HM-2
Yeah the guitars were double tracked or even quad tracked which alters the original tone, and you've also got to factor in the microphone and other gear that was used to color the tone before it was actually recorded
Quote by Metalguy5784

Its simple, I want to sound identical to the tone on Puppets and Justice. Make no mistake, I havent been trying crappy little pedals. I have tried EVERYTHING! I bought a Mark V, no luck so I sold it on ebay, I tried a dual rectifier, still no luck, now. I own a Peavey 6505+ with a MXR 10 band eq, still not close!